Should I Upgrade Current iMac 11,1 or Buy New?

Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I'm new to MacForums, any help would be appreciated.

I have a late-2009 iMac 11,1 with i7 2.8 GHz processor and 12 GB of RAM. I'm at that point where the computer is starting to show its age. I'm still rocking Snow Leopard, which I've loved dearly, but I know I'll need to upgrade the OS soon. I'm wondering if upgrading the HD to a new SSD and adding the remaining 4 GB of RAM to max out at 16 GB will make my machine like new and ready for El Capitan or if that would just be a case throwing money at a machine that should be replaced with a new iMac?

I do graphic design and some video work, so I'm doing a lot of work in Adobe programs like Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, etc.

Thanks!

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
An SSD can be a good upgrade though I haven't looked to see how easy the drive swap would be in that machine. When I put an SSD in my 2008 MacBook Pro it cut the boot time almost in half. As far as memory goes the 12 GB will be OK for many things. I'm not sure how much of a difference the extra 4 GB of ram will make. Others with more experience in graphics and video will have to comment on that.

BTW I'm running El Capitan on an that MacBook Pro that I put the SSD in and El Capitan runs dine with 8 GB of ram.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6