Initial secure multi-user setup of OS X

Reaction score
I am new to Mac OS X, but I work in IT and have used a few different OSs before (DOS, OS/2, Ubuntu - and reluctantly Windows at work). I am fully switching our family PC to Mac OS X and accept that we have to unlearn/change some habits and am open-mindedly trying the "Apple" way unless I feel I have a good reason not to.

From the start, I've been noting down all steps of my setup, and after over a month of use, it looks like I'm quite happy with it, so I thought I'd post it and see what feedback or comments I get from people more experienced with OS X.

This list is not intended for computer novices, and not spelled out in a fool-proof way, but I'd be more than happy to explain my reasoning (which may not be right ;-) or provide more details. My notes are a bit terse and probably only make sense when you actually have the settings windows, etc. in front of you.

-----------------------------

First, a few words on the hardware - I ordered a 27" retina iMac online and was very impressed with the packaging - wow!
The initial setup was a breeze, just plug in the network cable, keyboard (wired), power, turn on the mouse and turn on the iMac.

We already had an Apple ID and I proceeded to set up an admin account. I did not set up any iCloud or let iCloud user reset password, because I have no intention of using iCloud. While I trust Apple more than e.g. Google re data online, I prefer to have as little personally identifyable data online and as little automated online interactions/auto-updates, etc. happening. I realise this increases my workload as the admin of our family PC, but that way I know what's going on and see it as an opportunity to learn more about the system as I go. So, in that vein, I also unticked to send diagnostics & usage data.

System Preferences