Bluetooth adventure

Reaction score
I'm new to Mac and have a Macbook Air. My Blue tooth speakers appear in the list of sounds devices in settings but the link is not working.Can anybody help? Any and all help appreciated

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Can you explain what you mean by the lin k is not working? Entries in the Sounds preferences pane are not "clickable" in the same sense as links on a web page. Generally all that happens is that the computer is directed to push sound out to that device.

For testing purposes try it for both normal sounds (like music) and alert sounds. Depending upon your settings they may not both go to the same device.

OP
N
Reaction score
Sorry my explanation on my post wasn't very clear.When I click Bluetooth I see My Keyboard as connected and it is working.I also see my Kanto Bluetooth Speakers as not connected and i can't seem to find a way to connect them.The Kanto YU3 Speakers are indicating they are seeing the signal but no music coming.They work fine with my iPhone

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
When you try to use the speakers are they still paired with the phone. Some Bluetooth devices will only pair with one device at a time.

Also, Some devices pair fine with phones but don't play nice with computers. It's less true than it used to be but there are some devices that pair with phones/tablets but don't play nice with Bluetooth on the computer.

OP
N
Reaction score
When I was trying to get the Mac to work with the speakers the phone was not turned on

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
When I was trying to get the Mac to work with the speakers the phone was not turned on