Photo transfer from iphone to imac

Reaction score
Hello,i have a question,i've been to apple store and the sales girl connected my iphone 5s to the imac/mac computer (i'm not sure), as a trial for the sync cable i was about to buy...it stayed connected for a few seconds before disconnected again.It comes to my concern if this action will transfer my photos from the iphone to the imac/mac computer automatically...i hope u can help me with this issue as i am new to apple devices.Tq.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
What the Apple sales person did was connect your 5S using its lightning cable that has a USB connector on one end to the store's iMac. You can do the same thing with the lightning cable that came with your 5S to connect it to your Mac. That will automatically open iPhoto or Photos (depends on version of OS X) and ask to import the photos. So yes, that will transfer your photos automatically. You can turn that option off if you wish and use the "Image Capture" program that comes with your Mac instead. Either way, it works very well to import your photos.

OP
M
Reaction score
What the Apple sales person did was connect your 5S using its lightning cable that has a USB connector on one end to the store's iMac. You can do the same thing with the lightning cable that came with your 5S to connect it to your Mac. That will automatically open iPhoto or Photos (depends on version of OS X) and ask to import the photos. So yes, that will transfer your photos automatically. You can turn that option off if you wish and use the "Image Capture" program that comes with your Mac instead. Either way, it works very well to import your photos.