I'm Getting Inundated with Spam Emails!!!

Reaction score
I am getting hundreds of spam advertisement emails. How can I get rid of them or redirect them to the trash? I asked Verizon about changing email addresses, but they said I could just make a new one under my account. they said I could have four. Nice, but what happens when they all get this way??? Help!!!

M

MacInWin

I use a spam filtering service from pobox.com. My email address is [email protected], then they filter the spam and forward it to my "real" address. Only a very, very few people have my real address. If the real address gets spammed, I just tell pobox to redirect to a different one. Costs $20/year for the service, I've been using it for about 10 years.

OP
R
Reaction score
I use a spam filtering service from pobox.com. My email address is [email protected], then they filter the spam and forward it to my "real" address. Only a very, very few people have my real address. If the real address gets spammed, I just tell pobox to redirect to a different one. Costs $20/year for the service, I've been using it for about 10 years.

Thanks, I will check it out.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
A good ISP will automatically filter spam from your mail, there should be no need to use a pay service. Gmail which is what I use very rarely lets a spam message get through. There are other ISPs who also effectively filter mail. Even Microsoft's "Hot Mail" does a very good job of filtering. I also have Verizon mail because of my FIOS account but never use it because their email service is inferior.

Reaction score
You have to be smart about this. Anytime a site asks for an email address, if it's someplace you don't plan on coming back to, or someplace that wont let you download without it, give them a throwaway address.