pixelmator - What are your thoughts?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch Macbook Pro Retina, 2.7ghz, 128gb SSD
Hi guys,

I recently bought a new base model MBP as my new main laptop as I got into photography (as a hobby) around 5 years ago and i need a machine to edit my photos etc.

What are everyones thoughts on pixelmator? I've been using during the free trial period and it seems pretty powerful. I'm new to the world of photo editing - how does it compare to photoshop?

I'm kind of scared to use photoshop as it seems hard to learn etc - pixelmator seems easy to use yet pretty powerful as I'm only looking to lightly edit my pictures.

So what are your thoughts? Pixelmator or Photoshop? Which do you use and why?

C

chas_m

I've never really considered Pixelmator as being a program I would use to edit photos beyond very basic things like cropping or converting to web graphics. My definition of "edit photos," ie improve them, might be different than your interpretation, which sometimes is meant by people as simple resizing, cropping, lightening/darkening, captioning, that sort of thing.

I use Pixelmator constantly at work to make web graphics, so I tend to focus on sharpening, reducing, or removing the background on images with it, and it's very good at all of that. I've never tried things like "painting" with it. I find it has most of the basic controls Photoshop does and some nicely-done extras.

When it comes to ENHANCING photos, I use Photoshop CC and a few key plug-ins; if Pixelmator supported PS plugins I might be able to change over to it exclusively, but it doesn't.

OP
shahvikram123
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
By Editing photos I mean enhancing the picture with contrast, levels, exposure, hue, saturation etc for either the entire photo or portions of the picture and removing background or objects from the image. I don't usually do anything else to my pictures.

I thought using photoshop would be an overkill for such simple tasks?

IWT