Increasing longevity of 2011 imac

Reaction score
Hi folks, Im new to macs and bought a preowned mid 2011 Imac 27", I7 3.4ghz, 16gb ram, 1tb hdd about a year ago. It runs like a dream other than heating up a bit lately.

I'm not made of money and really want to get time out of this Imac as I don't think i could go back to a pc now.

First I would like to deal with the Heating up issue and would like to know ways to increase the longevity of the imac, regarding anything = software, hardware e.t.c.
I have read allot of articles on it but find peoples opinions very valuable who have, more like to hear the downs as well as ups.

Thanks.

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.
Hi, what are you primarily using the computer for. I only ask because if you are running a current OS and performing a lot of CPU intensive operations like graphic conversion or high end 3D video games like Mine Craft this can create quite a lot of heat on older types of graphics cards. I believe the mid 2011 iMac came with the AMD Radeon HD 6970M 1024 MB graphics card which is known to have caused problems for other users.

OP
I
Reaction score
Hi thanks for replying.

Only using this mac for surfing, spreadsheets and downloading/watching movies (dont stream though)

However I always have a web page, spreadsheet and video playing. Im always working on something on a spreadsheet and at the same time have a tv show/movie playing on vlc in the corner of the screen. Would like to mess around with video editing but possibly on another mac when i can afford it.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15