Thinking of switching from Android to iOS

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" rMBP 2014, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD, 2.6GHz i5
I have been using Android only for roughly 7 years or so, and as such I have very little experience of using an iOS. I have although, seen how mature the OS is, and how stable it is.

One of the reasons for me staying with Android for so long, was that I used to flash ROMs and root my devices. Since I got the Nexus 4 (and subsequently the Nexus 6), I've had no reason to flash or root, as the device is as I like it. It's not that I dislike Android now, far from it, I think it's a great OS, but I think iOS is more polished and communicates with my MBP easier.

Another reason for staying with Android was all of the Google apps, that were exclusive to Android. Obviously this is not the case anymore. I also used to like the idea of homescreens and widgets, although I've had the same 3 homescreens for years, and the only widgets I use are Google Keep, and the Weather. Widgets are not as important as they used to be.

I'd like to hear from people who have experience on both OS's, and can give me an unbiased view. I'd like to find out what limitation iOS has over Android, and how iOS excels in comparison to Android.

The main thing that I don't like about iOS (correct me if I'm incorrect) is that apps have less ability to interact with other apps. By this I mean sending information like photos, to other apps for use with them. Is that still the case with the latest iOS?

I've just purchased my second Macbook Pro, and I love them. I know I will love an iPhone, but I'm not sure if I will get frustrated with some features that are lacking when compared to Android (if there are any?).

I'd appreciate it if you could comment on features that iOS lacks in comparison to Android and the features that iOS has, that Android is lacking.