Slow System

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro
I am new to the Mac world since January. Windows was not cutting it.

My Mac Pro is OS X Yosemite is very slow at loading web pages. The only program I know of that is running in the background is Adblock. Is there a way to check for other programs that might be running in the background ?

I used OnyX this morning to clean my system but that did not make any difference. :(

Any advice you can throw at me would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You :)

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
My Mac Pro is OS X Yosemite is very slow at loading web pages.

- Are we really talking about a Mac Pro desktop computer…or the MacBook Pro listed in your profile?
- We could use your computers specs.
- And let us know how full the computers storage is (gigs used & gigs free).

* Nick

OP
Chilimon
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro
- Are we really talking about a Mac Pro desktop computer…or the MacBook Pro listed in your profile?
- We could use your computers specs.
- And let us know how full the computers storage is (gigs used & gigs free).

* Nick

Here is the info; If you need anything more specific, let me know

Mac Book Pro (Retina, 15" mid 2014) Yosemite Version 10.10.3 (Laptop)
Processor 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7
Graphics Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
Memory 16 GB
249 GB Hard Drive, 33 GB used, 216 GB available
Microsoft Office loaded
Firewall enabled
WiFi - Linksys Router

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
To check on what is running - Open Finder -> Applications -> Utilities -> Activity Monitor -> Click on the CPU tab then click on the %CPU column to toggle them from hi to low. This will tell you what is using up CPU cycles.

Then in the same app click on the Memory tab and the memory column to toggle it from hi to low usage.

That will tell you what is going on. Let us know what you are seeing.

Lisa