type doesn't appear on screen immediately

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Not much information to work on.

BT go into System Preferences and check Keyboard settings.

OP
M
Reaction score
Thanks for responding. At times, the letters are showing up on the screen are 4 or 5 behind what I am typing (and I am not a fast typist). There is some pin-wheeling and then all I have typed suddenly appears. In settings, "key repeat" is set to about 80% of max. This is only an occasional problem. but I am puzzled

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Still no information so hard to help further.

If this is on a1998 Bondi Blue 233MHz iMac, running OS 8.6 don't worry. If on the other hand it is a brand new Mac Pro, big problems.

OP
M
Reaction score
Sorry. I'm new to this and appreciate your help. I will try to provide more info. My Mac is a late 2012 MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz / i7 8GB 1600 MHz DDr3. As I said, this is not a constant problem, but it's new. I found that ad-blocker was slowing things down, so that is off for now.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
So are you running Yosemite? Or some other version of OS X?

How full is your hard drive/SSD? If it is getting too full this can cause swap file issues and slowdowns.

Have you tried run Repair Permissions or Disk Repair? Try restarting your computer and hold down Command + R to enter into recovery mode. Select Disk Utilities and do a repair on permissions and the startup main disk.

I doubt adblock (if it is the one that is an extension in your browser) is the issue. Try the above and post back the results.

Lisa

OP
M
Reaction score
I'm running Safari 10.8.5. I'll do what you recommended and report back. Again, thanks for the help. Also, since it occurs only intermittently, it may be a while before I know if the problem is solved.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs