Issue with transferring files from an external NTFS drive.

Reaction score
I’m a video editor and have been given an NTFS formatted hard drive with 522.93 GB of media. Using a simple drag and drop I’ve tried copying all of this onto a Mac OS Extended (Journaled) drive.

For what has been transferred all seems to be good, except that “get info” tells me that the amount of data transferred is only 452.9 GB. So thats about a 70GB difference. Can someone explain and tell me what I need to do differently. Thank you

M

MacInWin

Could be a couple of reasons for the difference. If the media is a lot of smaller files, then the simplest reason could be that on the NTFS drive those small files had a lot of extra space taken up because of the empty space taken to force the files to fill blocks into which the NTFS was formatted. When the files were transferred to OS X, only the data was moved, not the empty space, and since OS X doesn't have large empty spaces by design, the same data took less space. In any event, if you used OS X to copy the files and the number of files is the same, then you most likely got them all.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
I agree with Jake. What he described is called drive fragmentation - and it probably is fragmented. Those bits of space are all over the place. Also there will be a hidden trash file on the NTFS. If any previous files were deleted they would be in the trash file until emptied or written over and included in the total drive usage count.

If you have a windows computer and unhide the files on the drive you will see the hidden files. I am not sure how to do that with a Mac and an NTFS drive but I can tell you how on a windows computer.

Lisa

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey