a single key short circuit?

Reaction score
So I am new to mac forums, and my computer is very old. Yesterday I spilled a very small amount of tea (unsweetened) on my 2008 laptop, and now the L doesn't work. ONLY that key. I turned off the computer as soon as I realized something was up, and let it dry as long as I could (about 12 hours under a fan).

Is it possible that it's a short circuit, with just one key? I've figured out a workaround for the time being, but I'm a novelist, and I was just getting into a groove of 7-10000 words a day. If there's a way I don't have to train my right hand to a different keyboard... can anyone help?

Thank you!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 27" iMac, 1TB(partitioned) SSD, 20GB, OS X 10.11.6 El Capitan
Twelve hours is NOT a very long time to expect a keyboard to "dry out", and being spilt tea, the problem may never go away and quite possibly will get worse, especially considering that straight tea is acidic and will leave some residue behind.

You have various options available including replacing what you were used to using, if it doesn't fix itself, which I'd doubt. :(

OP
K
Reaction score
Unfortunatey I couldn't wait any longer!! I had international business to take care of, and that was the only way.

If I let it keep "drying out" will that still help? The LAST thing I want is for it to get worse!!!

OP
K
Reaction score
I'm on a farm in India, by the way-- very far away from anything like a big city. My options, I suspect, are limited.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Who knows what will happen, but maybe the tea spilt is no doubt better quality than we get here in N.A. and your keyboard may not get worse, and may even recuperate, but that's doubtful.

I don't know if a small rinse with some 99% Isopropyl alcohol poured into the spill area would help. But if it's already broke… ;)

OP
K
Reaction score
It's not that broke!

And I'm not sure where I'd get isopropyl alcohol... is that straight rubbing alcohol?