imac 27inch screens cracking

Reaction score
Hello,
I am a Media teacher in Australia and we purchased 20 27inch iMac screens in Feb. We have had three get what looks like fractures on the top edge of the screen, about 1 inch long. Just wondering if this is an issue with any other users? Also, would warranty cover these? We ensure that our students are extremely careful, but it is odd that all three have the fracture in the same place :( Budget controller is none impressed....eeek.
Thanks,
Lisa

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
I haven't heard anything, however at less than 3 months old.. I'd call Apple, the warranty should cover it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

Nothing impresses bean counters alas unless it is more in and nothing out. Did you purchase direct from Apple as a bulk lot? If so ring them a.s.a.p. and complain bitterly to have them replaced.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I am a Media teacher in Australia and we purchased 20 27inch iMac screens in Feb. We have had three get what looks like fractures on the top edge of the screen, about 1 inch long. Just wondering if this is an issue with any other users?

I've never heard of any issues like this. I would be more likely to wonder what the students in your media classes are doing to the computers (or maybe it's just one student).

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
We ensure that our students are extremely careful, but it is odd that all three have the fracture in the same place.
Thanks,
Lisa