Safari rerouting tumblr to safe.txmblr.com and certificate issues

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
OS X Yosemite 10.10.3 MacBook Pro (15", late 11) Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Memory: 4 GB 1333
Why does my Safari reroute the tumblr URL to safe.txmblr.com and say that the certificate could be fake? It may be related to Avast, or possibly some sort of keychain error.

I recently installed extensions from the Safari trusted page, but started getting annoying prompts, deleted the extensions, and deleted the safari extensions file from the Keychain Access program. I'm afraid this may somehow be the cause of my current woes.

I've tried just trusting the certificate but it still does it every time I use the URL. Chrome doesn't have the issue, but Firefox couldn't even trust the certificate for Google for some reason. Safari is my preferred browser, hence the effort.

Thx in advance for your help, this is my 1st post, I'm a newbie.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7030469

My specs:
OS X Yosemite 10.10.3
MacBook Pro (15", late 11)
Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
Startup Disk: Macintosh HD
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000 384 MB

OP
K
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
OS X Yosemite 10.10.3 MacBook Pro (15", late 11) Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 Memory: 4 GB 1333
Solution!

Avast was the culprit after all. Apparently the software replaces trusted certificates with their own, causing authentication issues with different browsers.

Here's a quick troubleshoot for pesky certificate prompts:

- delete Avast from Applications
- update Safari and restart computer
- system preferences / date & time settings : make sure this is on auto, uncheck and recheck even if it is.
- Safari preferences / privacy / delete cookies and website data