MacBook Pro Water Damage and AppleCare

Reaction score
A few nights ago someone accidentally spilled water on my MacBook Pro Retina 13". However, I did not realize it until the following morning but I noticed that there was primarily water under the MacBook and not on the keyboard. It turned on initially but I shut it down right away and put it in a bag of rice where it currently is right now. I have not yet tried to turn it back on. Is there anything else I can do? Should I open it up and inspect the inside for damage? Also, does AppleCare cover water damage? I checked online and I only have the 1 year warranty but it allows me to buy AppleCare for $250. If I bought it now and then went into the Apple Store at a later date, would they know when the damage occurred? Just wondering. Trying to avoid any huge charges because I'm a freshman in college. Thanks for any help.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
I think you are out of luck as far as AppleCare is concerned. If I recall correctly it typically does not cover water damage. AFAIK every Apple device made in the last several years has had a means of detecting whether the device has been subjected to water damage.

OP
T
Reaction score
It said it covers accidental damage on the website...maybe that includes water damage? And I know they can detect whether it occurred, but would they have a means of knowing when it occurred? Say if I were to buy the AppleCare now (assuming it covers water damage which I'm not sure on)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
I don't think their detectors can tell them when the water damage occurred but that is probably not relevant.