Help Installing a new Hard Drive in my Mac Pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Model Name: Mac Pro Model Identifier: MacPro5,1 Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon Processor
Hi,

I'm a Noob. I am replacing my HD in my Mac Pro 5.1.

I have no problem physically installing it, it's pretty simple. It has drive bays and I just have to secure it onto a bracket and insert it.

Can someone guide me on going about migrating my Current OS onto my new Drive?

I am running Yosemite 10.10.2.

Should I install Yosemite onto my new HD and then just migrate my files from my current Main HD to this new One?
I have the Migrant assistant app. I Have heard that it may not be compatible in Yosemite.

Can I keep the OS on my Old HD and have it run in sync with the new one?

I have 4 Drive Bays, can I put the new Drive in Bay 4 (the back) and then install the operating system with the drive there, ( so I don't have to remove the old drive with all my current files)?

I do have another external HD with a back up (Time Machine). Am I better off using that to migrate my files?

I have one main HD (my current one I'm replacing), which is about 4 and 1/2 years old. I also have two other HD's (one, is 700 GB's and another is 200 GB's) which I use for storage, and the external one. A total of 4 HD's ( not including the new one I want to install).

Does it matter what physical position in the drive bay My Main HD occupies? Right now it's (front to back) Main HD-HD 2-HD3.

Your help is Much appreciated.

Sherp

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welome to the forums.

You have it right - format the new drive Mac OS Extended (Jurnaled) in Disk utility, install Yosemite and then use Migration Assistant in Utilities. Then pop the new drive into Bay One which is checked first for the system software.

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Model Name: Mac Pro Model Identifier: MacPro5,1 Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon Processor