im a event photographer and need help with a multi screen mac setup

Reaction score
Hi all
I want to know if this is possible, can i run more than one screen from my imac that will run independently of each other. What i need is for people to be able to view there images stored on one imac but on 2 or 3 screens at the same time but different images. For instance on the main mac i would have say race 1, race 2 and race 3, i want people to be able to select there race on what ever screen they are using while the people on the next screen can also select there race and view there images. I know its do-able on windows machines with i think a nas drive but as im a mac fan i dont really want to change. im always out in the field so have no wifi or router etc.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Here's the best info I'm aware of on this topic:

OS X Mavericks preview: Multiple Displays finally work like they're supposed to | iMore

According to the article…each monitor attached to the computer would have it's own Menu Bar and Dock (which was never available before).

What I'm not 100% sure of is:

- if one computer (with multiple displays attached)…if the content on each monitor can be operated or manipulated independently.
- if attaching two or more input devices to a single computer (your iMac) is possible. Since this is what you would need for two or more folks to cycle thru their race images.

It basically sounds like you would like to have one iMac computer be able to act just like one, two, three, or more computers.

- Nick

OP
S
Reaction score
thanks and yes thats correct i do want to use the mac as a hardrive to run 2 or 3 screens. ive herd people do it with windows by connecting cheap tablets to monitors and also connecting the tablets to a main computer and each tablet feeds off of the main pc hard drive

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs