Question about deleted pictures on iPhone

Reaction score
Hello all,

First of all, thank you for any and all help! I'm fairly new to the Apple/iOS "world" but within the last year I bought an iMac and an iPhone (previously had a iPod/iPad).

I'm getting really frustrated because being a long time Windows user, I have no idea how anything works on anything Mac/iPhone/iCloud related and have many questions...but I'll start with this first one:

Why don't pictures permanently delete? Let's say I take a picture with my iPhone. I don't like the picture so I delete it. Well, a few days later I'm on my iMac and the very same picture pops up somewhere! I delete it.

A few days after this, I find the picture in My Photo Stream, Recently Deleted pictures, or somewhere else around my devices.

Is there a way to get these pictures to PERMANENTLY delete from EVERYTHING when I hit "delete"?

Thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
First... Welcome to the Mac-Forums!

Each of us has had to go through a learning curve coming from the world of Windows. :) Quite natural. As for the photos: You probably have photo stream turned on and also iCloud syncing of your photos.

On my iPhone: Settings, Photos & Camera, I have photo stream turned off, iCloud photo sharing turned off. iCloud drive is turned on, but I have Photos off. Those are my settings which prevent what's happening between your iPhone and Mac. You really need to go through all your settings for iCloud both on your iPhone and Mac. Experiment a bit and then keep the settings that you like and work best for you.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply! I'll have to look into it. I don't fully understand just how the iCloud drive works, but how does turning off the photo stream affect iCloud?