Is this the Death Knell? (MacBook Pro 13.3/2.53/2X2GB/250/SD)

Reaction score
Hi all,

My first post and a sad one :( Is this the death knell for my lovely MacBook Pro?

Bought on 19th October 2009 (wow) with 13.3/2.53/2X2GB/250/SD and running 10.7.5.

I'm a programmer and a neat freak and keep it very neat and tidy. No unnecessary software or nonsense and always a quick eye on Activity Monitor to make sure I'm not overly tasking it.

It's been amazing and I've really never had a problem with it.

But earlier this week - for the first time - it completely froze: screen still showing my work but no mouse/keyboard movement. After a time I had to force restart it. And when it came back online the screen was all garbled with nonsense so I had to do another restart. Since then it's been working... but wow is it Slooooooowww. Especially when I'm running quite a few applications (something it used to handle fine).

So

1. What are your thoughts?
2. I'm no hardware expert - could something internal be reaching the end of its life?
3. Is there some chance that I could have picked up a virus? (I'm very careful, but you never know - I don't think I'm getting security updates anymore)
4. If so, what would you be looking for in Activity Monitor? (I really only look at "My Processes")
5. Can you think of anything to give me a bit more life?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Love this Mac (gush)

Thanks,

Ryan

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
If everything is taking a long time - 30 seconds for a right click menu to open - waiting minutes for an app to open - likely the hard drive is dying which can be replaced for under $100.

Need to backup "NOW" if you don't already have one.
I would also suggest you quit using it until you have it backed up.
If it is the HD, it may be too late to backup.