iTunes Phantom Duplicates

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP 10.6.8 2.7 GHz intel i7 4Gb 1333 MHz DDR3
First off I'd Like to say hello all, as this is the first time I've used this site....The name's Tim and although I've been using computers the best part of 20 years, I only discovered the virtues of Macs in 2011, so I'm a relative newb so please go easy on me if I appear ignorant 'cos I probably am : \

So to the question: after checking itunes for duplicates I found thousands of them, which in its self is bad enough, but when I tried to remove one of them I noticed it removed both files!.....on closer inspection I found that some of the duplicate listings where for the same file.

Is there any way to remove these phantom listings without removing the actual file?
Any and all help would be very much appreciated.

....btw, I'm using a 2011 macbook pro intel 64 that I restored to 10.6.8 yesterday if this helps.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Which version of iTunes are you running? In the last several versions of iTunes when you delete a duplicate file iTunes did not delete the actual file it deleted the pointer to the file and the file itself remained in place. I think holding down the Option key while deleting a file bypasses this dialog.

I would right-click a file and choose Reveal in Finder making note of where the file is located. Then do the same for one of the duplicates to that file to see if the multiple pointers are actually pointing to the same file or if they are pointing to actual duplicate files.