Codecs I guess?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27 in iMac late 2013. i5 4570/ 8GB/ 1 TB
Ok, I am new to the Mac and for the most part the experience has been great. I was a Chrome browser user in Windows and I have decided I wanted the full experience and stop the Google stuff (I even bought an iPhone 6 just waiting for me to activate it (was an android user)).

The problem I am having is web video codecs. I would assume that Safari is HTML5 ready so no issues there. I have flash installed so that should not be a problem. But I find that many video I come across do nothing at all. I search online and there is many paid options available for codecs. 2015 and Linux is better for codecs then a Mac?

Is there options? I thought most of the videos on the web were either flash based or HTML5. Honestly something I never really had to think about as nowadays most things just seem to work on the computers I have used. I pay more upfront for the Mac and have to search for things we don't have to think about on other platforms?

Realize, I am not bashing here, just wondering. Is there an open source solution or something?

Thanks.

Reaction score
Most videos are flash or HTML5. There are some that are not. Used to be you installed Perian and/or Flip4Mac and were done with it.
However, I don't think they've been updated for Yosemite. There are some codecs available for Quicktime if you can find them.
Depends on what you need.

OP
C
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Most videos are flash or HTML5. There are some that are not. Used to be you installed Perian and/or Flip4Mac and were done with it.
However, I don't think they've been updated for Yosemite. There are some codecs available for Quicktime if you can find them.
Depends on what you need.

Funny, seems like the videos I was trying to view was HTML5. Get a loading screen and goes nowhere else.