Home cinema system

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Imac Intel Duo 20"
Just switched to a mac from windows and its got me thinking; I am toying with the idea of replacing my tv which has a sky digital box attached to it with an imac mini and a wide screen monitor (maybe apple, maybe dell) along with an 'eye tv 200' such that I can plug in my sky box to the eye tv and then feed the monitor (24") with the sky channels. I'm a bit of a newbie on this and have several questions if anybody can help.

Will I get HDTV when its available from sky on the monitor be it the Apple 23" or the 'Dell Ultrasharp 2405FPW 24" widescreen LCD Flat Panel Monitor'.

I have the 'Miglia TVMini on my Mac Intel Duo at the moment and its good but the picture is a little grainy, will the 'Eye TV 200' produce a better picture on the monitor I choose from the above?

T.I.A.

Adrian

M

MadRhino23

Okay... what are you going to use the setup for? A Home theatre in your family/medai room? Or will this still be used as your main computer?

The reason being, unless you are into designing or major film editing, do not spend the money on an apple monitor to use it for just Movies or TV! I'm not saying Apple Monitors are not worth the price, (I have 2 30 in Displays). If you have the money spend away.... If not invest into something bigger at about the same cost, like a 50" Panasonic HD Display or something, that's what you want for a theatre.... then, there is 2 ways here... take your mini-mac and turn it into a mini-media server by either mounting it behind ythe display or in a cabinet, you can direct connect it to the DISPLAY! Me? I have G5 in my office closet that serves media through my whole house... and not all that expensive.