MacAir Help Grayhaired Grandma

Reaction score
This Macbook Air was purchased in early September 2014. When I got it home I transferred everything from my older Macbook Air mid 2011 basically cloning the older one. They are both using the OS 10.9.5. I have refrained from installing Yosemite because of the horrid connection problems so many people seemed to have, because I was already having unexplainable connection problems on the older MacAir. I had spent hours with AppleCare and at Genuis bars trying to resolve it, to no avail. Anyway, when I transferred everything over to this new one I evidently also transferred the random connection problems. I would like to take this new one back to the "fresh from factory" state and then I guess install the latest OSX. The problem is...I don't know how to do that. I also don't know how to then copy my email, documents, pictures, etc from my time machine backups. I'm not very tech savvy AT ALL! Any help for me?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Anyway, when I transferred everything over to this new one I evidently also transferred the random connection problems.

By "connection problems" are you talking connection to the internet? And if so…are you talking about your internet connection in your home via a WiFi connection?

If this s all true…do you have any problems with other devices at home connecting to the internet via WiFi? The reason why I'm asking is…these connection problems could be your "internet equipment":

- the cable modem if you have internet via a cable tv company
- the WiFi router (the "thing" that provides the WiFi signal in your home)
- it could even be poor signal strength or signal quality in the coaxial cable coming into your home