external monitor for macbook pro retina - limitations?

Reaction score
Hi, I am not technically savvy about this.

I want to buy an external monitor (extended configuration) to use with a Macbook Pro Retina for programming/coding (I am a newbie just starting classes.).

Are there limitations as to the size/specifications of the monitors that a macbook pro retina will run for this use?

So far I am considering:

Dell UltraSharp 25" U2515H

Dell UltraSharp 24" U2415

I like that these monitors are IPS and can pivot (in case I find that a vertical screen is useful for me).

I picked the size simply based on the thought that this is about as much screen size as I will comfortably be taking in to view. Although I have seen references by some that the font size still ends up being very small on these size screens (I don't understand why they can't just adjust the font size, but as I said, I am not savvy about these specs.).

Will either of these work with either the retina 13" or 15" (I was leaning towards 13")?

Or should I go larger? or same size with higher resolution?

thanks,
Zep

Reaction score
I have a better idea.

Go and purchase a 32 inch led tv or a lcd tv really doesn't matter and get a hdmi adapter for the macbook pro in question much larger workspace nice clarity.

and would almost run you the same price as the 24 inch dell.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Or should I go larger? or same size with higher resolution?

That's a nice monitor but at that screen size and high resolution, I would definitely go for at least a 27" model rather than 24" or 25". I can tell you from experience with my iMac 27" high resolution monitor, that any smaller screen size at 2560 x 1440 is going to cause a lot of eye squinting. Of course a larger monitor is going to up the price considerably, but consider this.... what are your eyes worth? ;D

OP
Z