Opinions wanted

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro M1 max (16-inch, 2021) & 2016 iPad Pro
I'm looking for opinions on whether to keep my present MacBook Pro or purchase a new one.

My present MacBook Pro:
- mid 2009, 15"
- Processor 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
- Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
- Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 256 MB
- Running Mavericks

I use it mainly on the road (I'm a pilot).
- internet
- watch movies downloaded on hd
- email
- very little gaming
- word processor and spreadsheet

I'm within 70 GB's of a full 500 GB hd. Downloaded movies take up the most space (streaming is out due to hit and miss on internet speed at various hotels). My first option is to install a larger hd. Yes, an external drive for movies would be an option also, but I like the convenience of having all my movies on the laptop.

I'm also considering a new MacBook Pro with a larger hd. I have not kept up with the new models and advantages of the upgraded models. I'm asking all for your opinions on if a new MacBook 15" would be wroth the expense with my above listed uses of the machine or add a larger hd and more memory on present Macbook Pro.

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2016 Macbook Pro 512g.15" 16g.ram Ipad2Air 64gb wifi+4g Iphone 6s 64gig
I'm looking for opinions on whether to keep my present MacBook Pro or purchase a new one.

My present MacBook Pro:
- mid 2009, 15"
- Processor 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
- Memory 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
- Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 256 MB
- Running Mavericks

- internet
- email
- very little gaming

I'm within 70 GB's of a full 500 GB hd. Downloaded movies take up the most space (streaming is out due to hit and miss on internet speed at various hotels). My first option is to install a larger hd. Yes, an external drive for movies would be an option also, but I like the convenience of having all my movies on the laptop.