iMovie, Burn program, DVD discs.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
A1286 MBP5,3 running 10.9.5, iphone6, Mac mini1,1 A1176 120/2gb
Ok, This is my first attempt to make a DVD creation. Running MBP with mavericks. (See side bar for specs), Burn 2.5.1 and iMovie '09 (8.06) What I have done is to take about 43 pictures from a folder and dropand drag them onto the canvas. Then I added a song that I bought (yes, copyrighted). The video slide show works great within iMovie and can watch it via VLC off of my desktop in .m4v format? I can import it into the DVD video project selector in Burn. Burn states that it is the wrong format and converts it to mpeg2. The write fails. 2 discs so far, wasted. No errors reported by burn. Any ideas from you knowledgeable people? More questions? fire away!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PPC Mini, 10.4.11. Intel Mini, 10.6.8. MacBook Pro, 10.14.6. M1 MBA 11.6.3 iPhone 5 iOS 12.5,
Burn states that it is the wrong format and converts it to mpeg2.
Yes, that's correct. Mpeg2 is the required format for dvds.

2 discs so far, wasted.
Have the discs actually been written to? If so, have you tried them?

Try saving as an disc image/iso from Burn's File Menu>Save Image and see if that works. You can then make your dvd by burning that image using Disk Utility.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, Late 2009, OS X Yosemite, version 10.10.2
I have a IMac, 2009, that I have never had trouble burning a DVD.
This week I used iPhoto to make a slideshow and as prompted used my iTunes library and chose 2 of my songs. I then uploaded to iMovie and uploaded to iDVD. It takes a while to upload and burn, (less than an hour) and it sounds as if it burns, but it shoots out saying "Done" in the "multiplexing and burning" stage as if it isn't DONE.
I have read every forum on this and tried it all.
Last week to use iMovie & iDVD I had to update my system to OS X Yosemite.
I need a step by step check list to understand why I can't seem to get a DVD to burn.