Upgrading to Yosemite with Bootcamp

Reaction score
Hello,

I have a Late 2013 Macbook Pro with OSX 10.9.5 Mavericks and Bootcamp Windows 8.1
I have heard several issues with Upgrading to Yosemite and it creating havoc with Bootcamp and making Windows unbootable.

I'm wondering if this issue has been fixed or if anyone has any tips on how to properly upgrade to Yosemite that still has bootcamp working. I need my bootcamp set up the way it is and I don't want to have to delete it, upgrade to Yosemite, then reinstall Windows. Too much hassel.

I also heard that all the bootcamp and Yosemite issues are for those who are upgrading from older machines, mine is pretty recent.

I am still pretty new to Mac in general, bought my Macbook Pro in May 2014, first Mac ever, so I'm still unsure of all the technical things (mostly because I don't need to know all that anymore since Mac makes it simpler, generally)

Any advice or anything you know that might be able to help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
In theory, installing Yosemite over Mavericks should not disturb your Windows 8.1 installation via Boot Camp. There have been no "fixes" because again in theory, nothing needed to be fixed. Are you catching on yet?

Putting aside "theories", the best way to install Yosemite with an existing Boot Camp partition is to have a backup of that partition that can be restored in the event something goes wrong during the update process. Backing up Mavericks is easy; use Time Machine. But Time Machine does not back up a Windows partition. For that you will need "WinClone". Even if you use WinClone to back up your Windows partition, something could still go wrong.

WinClone web site and sales.

OP
O
Reaction score