Can't See My NAS

Reaction score
Sorry if this has already been posted - I'm a newbie to the forum and I did a search for attaching and formatting a Network Archive Storage drive.

The drive is a Seagate GoFlex Home drive connected via ethernet to my router. It was previously used on my Windows PC (I have just made a giant leap over to the iMac world (c:) and I am struggling to format the drive as Disk Utilities doesn't see it (I have tried connecting direct into the iMac ethernet port also) - however I can see and access the files and folders in 'Finder'. Any ideas???

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

Does the Seagate GoFlex have a USB connection port besides ethernet? If it does, attach it to your iMac thru USB and use Disk Utility to format it that way. I don't believe you're going to be able to format the drive with DU via ethernet.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
I think this is the manual for your device. The Mac setup process is described on page 23. Although you can use the software found here.

Personally I would try the browser based setup described on page 24 of the manual first. If it is like the last such device a purchased I could do the same things with software already on my Mac. I occasionally needed the browser setup to make changes but no worrying about incompatible software.

OP
D
Reaction score
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

Does the Seagate GoFlex have a USB connection port besides ethernet? If it does, attach it to your iMac thru USB and use Disk Utility to format it that way. I don't believe you're going to be able to format the drive with DU via ethernet.

Many thanks for taking the time to reply - it's very much appreciated.