HELP! DVD drive in Mac not reading discs!

Reaction score
Hi

I have a mac tower. Great machine - I use it for work and it's brilliant.... but not something terrible and worrying has happened

The disc drive won't read DVD Video discs. It reads blank ones but not video discs with content!

It just comes up with a message saying "This computer cannot read this disc"

But if I put it in through an external drive it works.

2 major problems:

1) I work in the video industry and I use this drive all the time and it has to work!

2) The external drive isn't mine, I'm borrowing it just to look into the problem!

Can anyone help? I thought it might be a region change but at no point have I had a warning about changing a region and as all the films over the last week have been region 2 (PAL) then not sure why one region 1 (USA NTSC) would not only break it but also not offer a warning about changing region code - to which I would have said no!

I remember in the old days of being on PC it would say: Do you want to change the region code? You have X changes left to this drive.

Does Apple not have a similar thing to this? It's rare - very very rare - when Microsoft does something better and more user friendly!

I'm not sure where to check region settings as there isn't any under the DVD option in System Settings.

Any help would be so greatly appreciated!!!

I'm running Mavericks fully updated btw

Ta

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
A DVD drive that is dying will read a blank disk but not play content. Is this just a player or will it burn a disk and does it play in another machine?

I suspect the drive is going out and they do. They are mechanical devices and the reader will wear out. Over the years I have replaced the DVD burner in my editor twice and she is 8 years old. I do use it a lot so I just accept it as part of wear and tear on the machine.

Lisa

OP
P
Reaction score
Lisa,