Background colour

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 4.1 Mavericks 10.9.5
Mav 10.9.5.
How change Docs background colour?
The spectrum is presented for selection but I can't change from 'B+W' to 'colour'
Also. can't change overall blue to graphite.
Must be doing something wrong.
Thanks

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
We need more details. What documents are you talking about? What spectrum? What blue to graphite are you referring to?

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sorry, something came up whilst I was typing and I 'sent' in optimism.
I am new to Mac; I have a 4 year old Mini 4.1 OSX Mavericks v10.9.5 with Office 2011.
From the desktop, if I click on a blue folder in the Dock I get a smallish panel containing Documents that I have transferred from my pc. Also there is an 'Open in Finder' option. If I click on this I get an almost full screen showing all of my documents, palish blue folders on a white background and it is these two colours that I want to change.
If I right click on the white background, then 'Show view options', up comes a small tall panel with 'Background: White, Colour and Picture' together with a small square frame. The black dot is on 'White'.
Clicking on the frame produces a circular spectrum or colour wheel about 130mm on my screen. When clicking on it the same colour shows in the square frame. I now have the chosen colour in the frame and the selection dot (whatever) still against 'White'.
What do I do next to confirm or apply this colour?
Thanks in advance for your answers to this simple question.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
The colour should change automatically once you select it. Does it work in any other folder?

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs