Macbook Pro for university studies

Reaction score
My situation:
I'm a Computer Science student and I'm looking to get a Macbook Pro.
I am unsure whether to get the 13" Retina or the 15" Retina.

What I'll be using it for (in order of how demanding I expect them to be):
  • running virtual machine(s) (only one at a time)
  • running IDEs, text editors, compilers
  • making notes in lectures
It's worth noting that I'll be using a virtual machine and IDEs/compilers at the same time.

My problem:
  • I'm unsure whether I will really make use of a quad core (15"), but I'm unsure whether a dual core (13") will really cut it.
  • I'm unsure if 8GB of RAM will be enough for when I'm running a Virtual Machine (with IDEs/compilers at the same time).
  • I want it to last for my entire studies and a bit after that, so I want it to be future-proof.

:)

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The choice between the 13" and 15" is simple: If you can afford the 15" machine and need a larger screen, then go for it. The difference between the CPUs you mention won't matter. Both will suffice for what you need it for.

One thing to keep in mind... retina machines are not user upgradeable for memory. And third party flash storage is expensive and requires a tech to upgrade. So for all practical purposes, the machine is not upgradeable. Which means you need to load it up with as much memory as you can afford (recommend 16 GB) and as large a flash storage drive as you can afford.

OP
G
Reaction score
The choice between the 13" and 15" is simple: If you can afford the 15" machine and need a larger screen, then go for it. The difference between the CPUs you mention won't matter. Both will suffice for what you need it for.