Powermac 2.3 or Quad 2.5 G5

S

strife3713

Hello everybody, first time poster and long time mac user here.

Well I'm about to make my first switcher purchase but I'm kind of in a twist here. First off, I'm a graphic designer who will be using this mostly for CS suite, Quark, Macromedia programs and anything and everything else the print designer would need. Now my question is whether I really need the Quad 2.5 or is a 2.3 good enough for me? how much better is the Quad at getting things done vs a 2.3? I know my mouth waters for the Quad of course, but I havent had the chance to sit and play with one. The first order of business will be to get 2 gigs of ram into the system of course.

Also, I was looking at the apple refurbished systems at the Dual 2.7 they have. Has anybody here had experience with refurbished systems? I know back a few years ago my folks bought a refurbished Dell that was a problem and was promptly returned back for a new Dell within a week, it had boot issues.

I need opinions and any advice you can give me!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
rMBP (Mid-2015), 2.8 Ghz i7, 16GB DDR3, AMD M370X Gfx, 1 TB SSD
The Dual 2.3 with 2 GB of RAM will be good enough for you. I can't speak for how much better the 2.7 or the quad would be though- but the 2.3 is the cheapest option of the three, and you will not be disappointed! My dualie 2.3 is still the fastest computer on the block by quite a bit, and it's a revision they aren't even making anymore.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook G4/ 15.2"/ 1.67 ghz/ 2 gb RAM/ ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 (128 mb RAM)/ 100 gb hdd@ 5400 RPM
I wouldn't go for the 2.7 ghz. The new 2.3's are a much better alternative, with faster RAM, PCI-E graphics, and faster PCI slots.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" 1Ghz PB 768Mb 10.4.5 30Gb Video iPod 40Gb 3G iPod 1Gb iPod Shuffle
go for the 2.7 as they have their own cache failing that go for the 2.3 the quads are over rated IMO

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs