Have Airport. want to switch to Time Capsule

Reaction score
I have been using an Airport Extreme for several years now. I want to switch to a Time Capsule in anticipation of adding a second Mac to my home network. I'm terribly guilty of not backing up as often as I should hence my decision to go with the TC.

Question: If I have an existing network, what happens when I try to introduce a new wireless base (the Time Capsule)? I want to keep the same name and password, **** I'll be lucky if I can even find the password (I have what I thought it was but most everybody's mobile devices are not working with it, well except my phone is. Go figure.)

My Airport Extreme base is currently plugged in at the basement entry of the cable from the utility pole to our utility closet. Will I just be able to unplug the old machine and plug in the new machine? When I signed up for the high speed internet package with the phone and cable TV included, we had to have a cable company tech help us get it all running and that was when we set up the wireless network. I hope I do not need to call them again.

sorry for all the luddite sounding questions. I'm a guitar player not a technician, Jim.:Smirk:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16GB 1600 MHz DDR3 10.9.4
All you will need to do when you plug in the new Time Capsule is go on your Mac and select the fan at the top (for wifi) and select the network it is creating... should be something along the lines of AppleBlah657fk or plug your computer directly into the Time Capsule and turn off wifi...