I spilled coffee with creamer on MacBook Pro keyboard last night

Reaction score
I can't believe I DID that and am just sick because I finally could purchase one in June. I of course quickly wiped it down and shook it gently upside down to try and get any other liquid out. I did not turn it off when I went to bed and it is working this morning but I'm sure that is just for now. I am not an expert at taking laptops apart. I know one of the benefits of this model is that there are no moving parts inside, however, I'm sure this is very bad. I would appreciate any suggestions...... Thanks in advance.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
For starters, turn the machine off and keep it off!

Next, read this: http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ap...iquid-my-macbook-what-do-i-do-now-thread.html

Now the rice trick usually is meant for water, so not sure if it will have the same effect with coffee. You bought this MBP this June? If so it's under AppleCare and you shouldn't do anything to void that. Not sure if visiting iFixit to look at the teardown/repair instructions would constitute a violation. If not, use those instructions to open up the top and clean up as much of the liquid you can with the machine off!

Once you're satisfied that you've cleaned as much as you can, you might want to let it air dry for a bit before putting it back together and seeing how things go.

The problem with liquids and electronics is very much like gambling. You might get lucky and have the liquid cause no damage or have it toast every circuit it comes in touch with warranting a replacement..

OP
M
Reaction score