Should I get a surge protector or a UPS for my macbook pro?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" macbook pro 6.1, 2.66 GHz Intel i7 8GB DDR3
I did get one today while I was at walmart, but I am returning it since you practically have to shove things into it, and I didn't realize that it didn't protect against lightning until AFTER I got home. :Oops: What would be better, a surge protector that actually protects against lightning, or a UPS? I know with a surge protector you want the most joules you can afford, but I have no idea what kind of UPS to get since I've never used one before.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Neither an UPS nor a surge protector will protect against a close or direct lightning strike. I lost around $800 worth of equipment some time back due to a close strike. Everything was protected by UPS and surge protectors.

A good UPS with built in surge protection does offer protection against line hits and sudden power off and on dips. Buy an UPS that is able to keep your equipment up and stable during a power off scene. It should be able to keep you up so that you have time to save your work and do a normal shut down. I recommend a 750VA unit or larger for your Mac and maybe some other things like a monitor.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Best and really only effective defense zippy is unplug everything from the mains when lightning storms are about.

Each year there are 1.4 billion strikes around the world, with up to 30,000 amperes so a surge protector or UPS will not protect against that. Use an iBox UPS for my iMac.

OP
zippythecellist
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs