27" iMac Configuration Advice

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to buy a new 27" iMac and would love some advice on which upgrades to splurge on. I'm a graphic designer, working primarily in Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign - usually have all three programs open as well as Bridge. I don't do any gaming and only very light video.

I'm looking to spend $2500 or less (with education pricing), and am wondering where to spend the upgrades. Definitely planning to do 16GB of RAM and then immediately fill the two additional slots with another 16GB. Beyond that, I'm having trouble deciding, specifically...

i5 or i7 Processor?
775M 2GB GDDR5 or 780M 4GB GDDR5?
1TB Serial ATA Drive or 1TB Fusion Drive or something else??

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The 27" iMac can easily be upgraded with more memory, so that's not a problem. As for the options, definitely go for the better graphics. I don't remember if you can order the top of the line graphics with the i5. You may have to order the i7.

As for the Fusion drive, they do speed things up but they have been problematic and I believe for now I would avoid getting one. Ordering a large pure SSD instead will cost a small fortune so I don't think you'll want to go that route.

I have the same 27" model in my home office but I don't use it for any kind of graphics work but I can tell you that it's a beautiful machine with a great display - and it's fast.

OP
I
Reaction score
Thank you so much, chscag! It looks like I can get the upgraded graphics card with the 2.4GHz i5 processor... would you recommend that or would it still be worth it to upgrade to i7. Thanks! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch 2014 Retina MacBook Pro, 2012 Mac Mini, 160GB iPod Classic, iPhone 5