PowerMac G5 won't boot

Reaction score
Hi all, I have a PowerMac G5 Quad that just refuses to boot.

So heres the story.

I always admired the powermac g5(that case though... mmmmm), as a broke college student I wanted a mac to play around with and started looking on Ebay for a used g5 close to my area. I eventually found one for $40.00. Bought it, drove 2 hours to get it. Only problem was it had a busted power supply. I went online and bought a new power supply for $44. Screwdriver set for $30. And began to work.

After replacing the power supply the g5 powered on for the first time. But...the logic board showed CPU B OverTemp led 2 and CheckStop. Led 7.

So i thought i must have not seated the cpu correctly and reseated them. Now all I'm getting is LED 7 instantly. Checkstop.

What gives? I've tried reseating the CPU multiple times to no avail and I'm in too deep money wise now to quit.

Just for the record. I don't see any liquid cooling leaks. The Liquid cooling system is solid. So i don't believe its that.

Anyone wanna give their feedback and help me out because I'm literally about to throw up with all the money i spent on this lemon. Thanks!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Only problem was it had a busted power supply.

What gives?

Anyone wanna give their feedback and help me out because I'm literally about to throw up with all the money i spent on this lemon. Thanks!

Two things:

1. Maybe this $40 Powermac G5 had more problems than just a bad power supply.:(
2. So far you have spent:

- $40 for the computer
- $44 for the power supply
- $30 for screwdrivers

This adds up to $114.

I've seen 100% working Powermac G5's sell for as little as $55 on eBay…and more commonly around $100 (with prices in between as well).:)