I cant see my Emails

Reaction score
Hi; Since yesterday , my emails have dissapeared , the mail Icon is in the desktop, but when I click it it never shows the email folders, and most of the options in the menu bar are greyed out , Im using Mac OSx 10.6.8
can someone please suuget a fix for this?
thank you
Mariano

C

chas_m

Are you trying to tell us you moved the Mail icon out onto the desktop and now it can't find the database with your mail? What happens when you move it back to Applications where it belongs?

OP
D
Reaction score
no, I did not move anything, when I quit the Mail application, it goes back into the Applications folder, then If I click in the mail icon in the applications folder it gets in the applications bar in the bottom of the screen (like it should) but clicking into it does not bring the Mail screen up.
I have been using this system for the last 3 years.

Last edited:

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The Mail application is placed on the Dock (bottom menu) by default. All icons which reside on the Dock (bottom menu) are aliases which are pointers to the application they represent.

The next time you open Mail from the applications folder and the icon appears in the Dock (bottom menu) right click on it and select "Keep in Dock". From then on, the icon on the Dock can then be used to open the Mail application.

OP
D
Reaction score
yes, I did that, (keep it in the dock) but clicking on the icon it does not open anything, is there any command that I have inadvertently push that hide the emails?
tegards
Mariano

OP
D
Reaction score
I have tried to restore a backup of Mail from Time Machine, from a time that I knew that Mail worked , and still the restored version of Mail does not work, time Machine is ALWAYS plugged to the computer, but if I try to do a complete system restore it would find only a backup from february.. ARRRGGGG