What is the best way to learn the OS?

Reaction score
I'm a Windows engineer and we've seen the introduction of more and more Mac books in the environment. Along with that we tend to get more calls regarding the support of the OS.

I'm thinking about purchasing a PowerMac G4 to become more familiar with the operating system due to the reduced cost of the systems. I need to know if this is a good idea and would appreciate any guidance available.
Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Air M2 ('22) OS 14.3; M3 iMac ('23) OS 14.3; iPad Pro; iPhone 14
Hello and welcome to the forum! Now I'm not one of the hardware experts here but my first suggestion for learning the Mac OS X is to obtain a computer that is modern and running the most recent OS which is Mavericks (the next Mac OS is about to be released, i.e. Yosemite which will be OS 10.10.x).

The machine you are suggesting stopped being made in 2004 (quote from HERE) and used Apple's older processors; by around 2006 the company had switched to Intel-based CPUs. You really need to obtain a new or at least a recent used iMac or Macbook Pro that is running the most recent versions of Apple's OS - then suggestions can be made about learning the OS - Dave :)

The Power Mac G4 (originally Power Macintosh G4) is a series of personal computers that was designed, manufactured, and sold by Apple between 1999 and 2004. They used the PowerPC G4 (PPC74xx) series of microprocessors. They were heralded by Apple to be the first personal supercomputers, reaching speeds of 4 to 20 Gigaflops. They were both the last Macintoshes to boot natively into Classic Mac OS and the first to boot exclusively into Mac OS X.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15