Modifier keys with alternate layout

Reaction score
Hey all!

I'm new to Macs, so, figuring everything out.

I use an alternate keyboard layout (dvorak). When using modifier keys, I get random behaviour in different apps. Some apps will use the new layout correctly (such as iTerm). However, others, like Chromium Browser, will use the QWERTY layout when using modifier keys.

Is there anyway to set it globally that when I use a specific layout, the modifier keys go with it?

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro (2019) 3.3 ghz 12-Core 96GB mem Vega Pro II
I only use a qwerty keyboard, but in System Preferences under Keyboard/Input you can click the plus and add Dvorak. Maybe that will do what you want.

OP
M
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I already have Dvorak set up. The issue is with the modifier keys. For some reason, they are using QWERTY in some apps. Thoughts?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
The problem is that some applications will ignore the keyboard setup entirely. That negates the use of shortcut keys when switching to the Dvorak keyboard. MS Office is one such app that behaves that way, and there are others.

OP
M
Reaction score
So, you're saying it's not something that the system controls and reports to apps?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Whether or not the system reports it to apps makes no difference if the apps in question ignore it. But yes, the system is aware and makes apps aware of the keyboard setup.

OP
M
Reaction score
True.