Best media streamer

Reaction score
I am new to Mac ownership and wish to stream films from a NAS device to my TV. My films are in various formats
What is the best media streamer to purchase?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
I am new to Mac ownership and wish to stream films from a NAS device to my TV. My films are in various formats
What is the best media streamer to purchase?

"Best" is pretty subjective. I've tried various media systems myself, and the Apple TV works nearly flawlessly, but the limited file type support and need to stream from iTunes vs a dedicated server/NAS is a pet peeve that I've long since learned to work with. In comparison, I've tried a Roku and it was buggy and playback quite choppy, though most people say they don't have those issues. A Mac mini running Plex Media Center would be my favorite, but that's pricey and managing the Mac mini with an IR remote takes a lot of work to set up, last I tried a few years ago (might be easier these days).

What NAS device do you use? If you have something like a Synology DiskStation that supports 3rd party apps on the device itself, then installing Plex server on it and using a media center attached to the TV that can run Plex would likely be your best choice. Roku has Plex available, as does Amazon's FireTV. Bear in mind that depending on how your media is encoded, it may not stream very smoothly no matter what you use.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I have used a D-Link DNS-323 NAS (mirrored, RAID 1) with a WDTV Live for a number of years now to stream my media. This is all wired with GbE, so if wireless is a requirement for your streaming setup, look elsewhere.