What kind of macbook should I buy? Would really appreciate some advice.

Reaction score
Hello forum :)

I'm considering buying my first macbook and could really do with some advice...

I'm just beginning to learn programming, particularly for mobile app development in the nearest future, but also for general web design and I'm interested in a few different languages (Java & Python right now), so I need something that I can comfortably program and design on and I'll be using it every day for at least the next year and hopefully longer. I will be editing 2d artwork too. I decided apple because I'd eventually like to publish on their devices.

It needs to be portable because I really prefer to work away from home (cafes, libraries or parks when the weather is good, so I've already decided on the antiglare screen cover too). I'm thinking sizewise 13" will be grand (although I went into the apple store today and actually liked the 15" quite a bit). Will 13" be okay?

I'm not at all keen on the air - it just looks really flimsy to me.

I'd like to play some games. I realise it's not an ideal gaming machine, but as I'll only have one machine, I definitely want to play a few games, and I can accept a less than pristine graphics performance.

How much RAm memory do you think I'll need? I'm thinking 8GB?

Is i7 overkill? On the apple site there are 13" refurbished i5 macbooks with 16GB for almost the same price as the i7 with only 8GB. Which will perform better for my needs and will I notice it?

Which graphics card should I go for? Iris or if I can get one with HD5000 will that be okay?

Thanks in advance for your help.

p.s. Do you think apple will be releasing an updated version of the pro soon and is it worth the wait (either for the new machines or discounts on the older models)?

Thanks forum! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, iPad Mini Retina