27" iMac SSD Upgrade

Reaction score
Mid-2010 27" iMac. i5 2.8GHz. 24GB RAM. OSX 10.9.3

Hi all,

I'm contemplating upgrading my iMac's internal HDD and adding an additional SSD drive. Before I take the plunge, I just wondered if anyone had a walkthrough for copying all of my current programs and data, before I add the new drives please? (I am no expert, so please humour me!) I do use an external NAS set up for Time Machine backups; will those backups contain EVERYTHING I need to restore my ENTIRE system, after installing the new drives? If so, what exactly are the steps to do this please?

Finally, does anyone on here have experience of installing the new drives themselves? I've read and watched endless tutorials, plan to buy one of the specific toolkits for the job and hope to give it a go...doesn't look too difficult?!

Any help, greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Neil

OP
N
Reaction score
Thanks Nick.

Sorry, I probably wasn't specific enough...I have read several of those similar guides, what I'm unsure about is if I can allocate my restore from Time Machine between my new HDD and SSD? As the SSD will probably be 500GB, it won't be large enough to handle everything on my old HDD (approx 800GB). Is there a way of allocating my applications/programs to the SSD and all my files etc to the HDD?

As I'm a bit out of my comfort zone, I just want to have every step covered, before I start!

Cheers

OP
N
Reaction score
BUMP...anybody out there who can help please???

Is anybody please able to explain if I am able to restore my entire system from my Time Machine backups and if so, am I able to aportion those files/apps, between the new SSD and my HDD please?

I want to be able to put the OS and all of my apps on the SSD and all my files on the HDD, for now. The new SSD will only be 500GB and I have around 800GB's worth of stuff on my current HDD.

Any help much appreciated. Thanks.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs