• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Movie won't play in iTunes

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to this, if this is the wrong place to post about this, please move it.
My iMac is 6 days old now, I just tried to download a movie via iTunes. It won't play. I tried my best searching for an answer, tried all that was suggested, but still no luck.

I have downloaded some apps from the app store, I guess my account authorisation is ok otherwise these wouldn't have worked (got the $1 account evaluation on my credit card)

The iMac i'm using has mavericks 10.9.4 installed and updated yesterday. Account with iTunes should be good to go. iMac is almost brand new.

The file download is still not fully compete, i expect it will take the better part of 1.5 hrs, its halfway and the first half took that long.

I got the "watch now or later" prompt and clicked watch later., but clicking the thumbnail in the library won't start it playing.

All i'm getting is a black screen. I can see thumbnails of the chapters.