Is this MacBook Pro a good deal?

Reaction score
To be honest I have very little knowledge about Macs, so I'm asking some feedback from the "experts"

I'm a PC guy but looking into a Macbook probably, for web and app development and also video editing. I found one locally on Craigslist with this description

MacBook Pro with 15 inch display and external cover. 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7. 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3. Macintosh HD. Purchased in March 2012 for $2,200.00 - asking $1,700 obo. OS X operating system Version 10.9.3.

I've very confused about the lack of model numbers and everything by year? Can anyone tell me anything about that laptop, how upgradeable is it, will it be good for video editing, running virtual Windows 7, etc.. is that a good price or should I try to bring it down.. and most importantly if that is a 2012, should I pay the extra and get a 2014 model?

Thanks!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
MacBook Pro with 15 inch display and external cover. 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7. 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3. Macintosh HD. Purchased in March 2012 for $2,200.00 - asking $1,700 obo. OS X operating system Version 10.9.3.

Skip this deal…unless you can get the seller to come down at least $200-$300 bucks. Also…the seller may have purchased this computer in March 2012…but it's actually a "Late 2011" model. Not exactly a big deal…but you should 100% be aware what you are buying (a 2011 model).

I think that you would be much better off looking at the 15" MacBook Pro's in Apple's refurbished area. The prices there for the models listed are in the same "ballpark" as the deal listed above.

PLUS…all the models currently listed in the Apple refurbished area are newer (2012 models and newer)…AND…these will come with a full 12 months of Applecare warranty.

HTH,

- Nick

OP
A
Reaction score