Fail

Reaction score
I have a network drive (Samba) with photos. I am trying to view pictures from a Macbook Pro retina, Maverics, a new one. No software installed system wide, other than Chrome in my $HOME. I am able to browse photos from this network share using Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux, Xbox, PS3, WD TV (a set top box), etc.

This however, utterly fails from Mac. When I try "Quick view" (seclect + space) I either get an error or sometimes get a picture but can get to the next one (a beep or a hang). A double click eventually brings _one_ picture in Preview but this takes 30 to 60 seconds. Selecting all pictures (~100) and opening them in Preview just hangs Preview forever and makes it impossible to even reboot the OS (until shutdown eventually hard kills the Preview).

The only way I can see pictures on Mac is by using Chrome and file:/// URL. That brings pictures in 3-5 seconds as expected. Needless to say, this is a #FAIL. Back to 1996, using browser to view JPEGs. Being a Linux user and a OS engineer, I am used to some pretty rough software, but this is too much.

On the positive side the screen is awesome. But the OS seems to be severely lacking.

Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks!

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
This will not solve your picture issue and I hope someone else can help you as I have never had that issue with a Mac but:

This is not Linux. Applications belong in the Applications folder when you click on t he Hard drive icon. I have seen issues putting apps other places but that Applications folder. Just a heads up for the future as some apps will not work right put in another folder.

Your picture issue does sound network related. Does the Internet work normally and fast? Can you copy files to other network shares without pauses?

OP
A
Reaction score