iMac and spinning beachball of death

Reaction score
Hello, I'm looking for some help with my wife's iMac. We bought the machine in 2008 and, in general, it hasn't caused any trouble for the entire time we've owned it. However, recently its started running extremely slow and displaying the SBBOD with great frequency. Rebooting does not help/

I'm a career software developer who is quite adept with software and hardware diagnostics but the vast majority of my experience is with Windows so I'm a little in the dark here. I've done the following:

- Used activity monitor to check memory and CPU utilization. Nothing unusual, plenty of free memory and no processes hogging CPU
- Checked disk free space, plenty of disk available.
- Quit all apps, Finder still shows SBBOD when navigating the Finder itself
- Reset the SMC, no real change
- Uninstalled various bits of unneeded software
- Ran hardware diagnostics, no errors
- Looks at various posts about SBBOD, tried various remedies to no avail

Nothing has really helped.

This machine has had a tough life for a while with my wife, daughter and her friends installing god knows what on it over the years. I've made various attempts to keep it clean but I really only pay attention to it when it misbehaves and that has not been often and never severe.

In my Windows experience this is the time you would decide to back off all essential data, wipe the machine and re-install from scratch. I'm completely confident in my ability to do that but I hate to do it unless its the right answer. Given that I've gone through as many of the various SBBOD remedies and none of them panned out, I'm fresh out of ideas.

Any help?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Two things:

- How much ram does this computer have?
- The main problem could be a dying hard drive.

* Nick

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs