URL in Word doesn't work in PDF

Reaction score
I have a document that has a hyperlink in Word to a standard website. The link works perfectly in Word but will not work when I save as PDF or "Print to Save as PDF".

The link shows up in the PDF as a link (blue, underlined) but it's not clickable.

Any ideas how to make this work? Do I have a setting turned off somewhere?

Using Word for Mac 2011 and Preview.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook w/2.26 GHz Intel Corre 2 Duo running OS 10.6.8
I'm no expert but my experience is that "print to save as PDF" is basically more or less taking a picture of the document and saving that picture as a pdf file. The hyperlinks don't get translated as hyperlinks since this is just a "print" of the document. Sort of like a screenshot of your desktop. None of the icons are clickable. My explanation may be wrong but that's been my experience after "printing" lots of documents and web pages to PDF.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP17 8GB/1.9TB 2xSSDs Sierra • MBA11 4/128GB • TC 2TB • TV3 • iPh6 128GB • iPadPro12
I'm no expert but my experience is that "print to save as PDF" is basically more or less taking a picture of the document and saving that picture as a pdf file. The hyperlinks don't get translated as hyperlinks since this is just a "print" of the document.

It depends on the PDF engine used, but generally this is not the case: hyperlinks are preserved, when Print -- Save as PDF is used:

ScreenShot2014-05-29at100349_zpsb922e0cf.png~original

This is in Preview ^^

Interactive, I am not familiar with MS Office, but I thought all office suites have a built-in PDF creator - OpenOffice and Libre Office certainly do. If the problem persists, it might be worth checking these out - great software, not to mention it's free.

There could be a couple of reasons for hyperlink not to work, as far as I can see: