Advice Wanted

C

chedercheyz

i'm a student about to commence into uni and i've persuaded my rents to get me a Mac.

My Degree course is in Sound engineering and studio work, this includes production and creation. but this has left me with a difficult decision.... WHAT MAC IS FOR ME???

Ok here are the options. (all products are brand spanking new from the apple shop)

option one: iMac with nessicarry gear.

option two: Powerbook with the new Intel chip, and all nesicarry gear

I know what out board gear i want and what software i'm jsut torn between the convenience of the Powerbook and the usfullness of the iMac.

So! any help is apreciated, thanks a lot.

Joe :headphone

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook
get the macbook pro if you have the money, portability rules!

OP
C

chedercheyz

macAttack said:
get the macbook pro if you have the money, portability rules!

the only thing is, i've heard bad reports about the mac book pro with the first generation of the Intel chip, so i'm a bit sceptical.

the powerbook Intel chip is the generation 2.

thanks for the reply, its much apreciated

Joe

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iBook
powerbook intel chip is generation 2? don't be so sure about that, i think the macbook is replacing the powerbook eventually. As with all first generations, it will be a bit buggy, and so will the imac, and realize, the macbook pro hasn't been used that much by anyone, they just shipped a coupld of days ago.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Intel Core solo Mac mini 1.5GHz, Headless Powerbook G4 500MHz
If I were you I would get a g4 powerbook until all the programs are switched over to universal binary.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
I'd go macbook pro.. its faster then the imac and is indeed an amazing machine.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
i dont have no mac's