Choice iMac - MacbookPro

Reaction score
Hello everybody, my name is Charles and I have a question concerning a problem I have with choosing a new hardware mac-machine.

- Mods, please move this thread if it's posted in the wrong location.-

Currently I own a 2010 Macbook Pro 13" 2,4-GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. After 4 years of everyday use it's starting to lag a bit. I decided to buy a new computer and I want it to be a Mac.
Now the problem is that I don't know what to choose. Should I go for the new 15-inch Macbook Pro 2,0-GHz Retina-display OR for the 27-inch iMac 3,2 GHz...
I'm still a student who's finishing a bachelor's degree this year. Next year I will start another study: (industrial) product development. So it has to fit my needs to work on design and development projects as well. I am very 'hooked' on my laptop at the moment, I take it with me everywhere I go, I use it a lot out of my condo, I watch movies and series on it in bed, etc. But the iMac has a much bigger screen which would be ideal for projects and also watching movies and series.

Now the problem is that my knowledge about computer hardware is anything but big. Is there anyone here who could give me some advice about making this choice?

Thanks in advance,
kind regards - Charles

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Currently I own a 2010 Macbook Pro 13" 2,4-GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. After 4 years of everyday use it's starting to lag a bit. I decided to buy a new computer and I want it to be a Mac.

This is not surprising...since you already own a Mac.:)

Now the problem is that I don't know what to choose. Should I go for the new 15-inch Macbook Pro 2,0-GHz Retina-display OR for the 27-inch iMac 3,2 GHz...

When choosing between a MacBook Pro or an iMac...what you're really saying is desktop or laptop. You need to decide if you need the portability of a laptop. Once you make this decision...then the choice is easy.